The third contest will open in November of 2011


The world’s best pictures awarded today in Stockholm -Italian photographer Marco Vernaschi wins premier award. The Italian photographer Marco Vernaschi took Picture of the Year when the international photo competition, Photographers Giving Back Award was judged. Vernaschi’s winning picture shows the chair on which the President of Guinea-Bissau, João Bernardo, was executed just a few hours previously.


Picture of the year

Marco Vernaschi

General News Picture of the Year

1. David Guttenfelder/AP

2. Nasser Shiyoukhi/AP

3. Luca Spano

Feature Picture of the Year

1. Thomas Lekfeldt/Ekstra Bladet/Moment

2. Alex Masi

3. Rodrigo Abd/AP

Spot News Picture of the Year

1. Guillermo Arias/AP

2. Khalil Hamra/AP

3. Daniel Berehulak/Getty Images

Portrait Picture of the Year

1. Niklas Björling

2. Baptiste Giroudon

3. Mona Simon

Nature Picture of the Year

1. Iain D. Williams/Reuters

2. Hans Strand

3. Tobias Smith

Nature Picture of the Year, Environmental

1. Thomas Mukoya/Reuters

2. Klavs Bo Christensen

3. Daniel Berehulak/Getty Images

Sports Feature Picture of the Year

1. Daniel Sannum Lauten/VG

2. Thomas Haugersveen

3. Robert Hooman

Sports Action Picture of the Year

1. Daniel Ochoa de Olza/AP

2. Donald Miralle Jr/Freelance

3. Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Picture Story of the Year

1. Marco Vernaschi

2. Farah Abdi Warsameh/AP

3. Walter Astrada/AFP

Sports Picture Story of the Year

1. Tomasz Gudzowaty

2. Paolo Verzone/VU

3. Linus Sundahl-Djerf

Picture story of the year – Nature

Due to the low numbers of entriees the jury choose not to award a prize in the category. However al of the submitted pictures where moved into the singel nature category.

The 2011 contest will open in December of 2010.

The 2010 contest is closed and the Photographers Giving Back jury is done with the judging of the submitted pictures. The jury spent a week going thruee all pictures. The jury meeting took place at the newly opened CourtYard by Marriott in Stockholm Sweden.

The 2011 Contest will open in December of 2010. Don’t miss The PGB Award at facebook >>

Compete for cash prizes and the honorable bronze statues. Professional as well as amateur photographers worldwide are welcome to participate in The PGB Photo Award.

To submit your pictures to The PGB Photo Award you will need to open a new personal account. To do so please use this link.

The pictures submitted must be your own copyright and can only be submitted into the specified categories.

Pictures can only be submitted online.

Participating pictures must have been taken during the year 2009. They do not need to have been published.

The jury is allowed to move pictures between categories if they deem it necessary.

For each submitted picture there is an entry feeof $10

Please read the Rules and Categories for more information.